REPORT ON

ALUMNI MEET DEPARTMENT OF POLITICAL SCIENCE DHEMAJI COLLEGE DHEMAJI Date: 27th March, 2022 Time: 10.00 am

"TRUE FRIENDS ARE THE ONES WHICH YOU MADE IN SCHOOLS OR COLLEGES AS THESE FRIENDS ARE MADE WITHOUT A TINT OF SELFISHNESS".

The Department of Political Science, Dhemaji College conducted its 1st Alumni Meet on 27th March, 2022 at Dhemaji College premises with immense pleasure and heartfelt happiness with a view to constitute an Alumni Committee. The occasion was graced by around 50 former students ranging across various batches who have been settled in different fields in the state and abroad in different positions. The meeting was chaired by Dr. Upen Konch, Head of the Department, Political Science, Dhemaji College. The program started with a short warm welcome address by Dr U. Konch to all those present in the meeting and explained the relevancy of an Alumni meeting.

The key note address was given by Sri Karun Jyoti Chetia, Ex - Student and the Chief Convener of the Meeting. In his speech, the Chief Convener told that the occasion provides an opportunity for everyone to meet each other after so many years and also helps the old friends, classmates to reminisce about their college days and share their memorable experiences with all. He also told that the meeting would create a platform to form a full-fledged Alumni Committee.

Dr. Trailukya Gogoi, Assistant Professor, Department of Political Science, Dhemaji College, Prof. Rajib Kamal Bora, Alumni and Assistant Professor, Department of Political Science, Bordoloni Central College and Prof. Jiharmol Kuli, Assistant Professor (Guest Lecturer) and Alumni, Department of Political Science, Dhemaji College attended in the programme. Dr. Trailukya Gogoi delivered a short lecture in which he focused on the role of Alumni for the upliftment of institution is the need of the hour.

As per the agenda of the meeting it was decided to form the Alumni Committee, hence, Prof. Rajib Kamal Bora and Sri Karun Jyoti Chetia carried out the formalities for formation of the Committee. Finally, the Alumni Committee was successfully formed on the very day with a total of 52 members. The structure of the Committee is as follows:

- > Chief Advisor: Dr. Dipak Kr. Neog, Principal, Dhemaji College
- Advisors: Dr. Upen Konch, Prof. Ajoy Kr. Patir, Dr. Trailukya Gogoi, and Prof. Rajib Kamal Bora
- President: Sri Deva Kr. Das
- Working President: Sri Nitul Kakati
- Vice President: Sri Ramani Chamuah and Sri Jihormol Kuli
- General Secretary: Sri Karun Jyoti Chetia
- Assistant General Secretary (s): Sri Bhaskar Bharali, Sri Pulakesh Gogoi and Kalyan Gogoi, Sri jintu Hazarika
- Organizing Secretary: Mrs. Padma Chetia, Miss Jashingfa Gogoi and Sri Manash Jyoti Chetia, Sri Tonoy Medhi
- **Treasurer:** Sri Ratul Dihingia
- Cultural Secretary: Mrs. Rashmi Rekha Saikia, Mrs. Yashmin Dihingia and Miss Papori Gogoi
- **Research and Publication:** Prof. Rajib Kamal Borah and Sri Pleasant Sonowal
- Art and Literature: Sri Domini Changmai, Miss Karishma Saikia, Sri Naba Dutta and Sri Pallab Sonowal
- And with many enthusiastic former students of the Department as members of the Committee.

The Alumni Committee was constituted with a view to provide a meaningful platform for interaction among the former students. Further, the main mission of the Committee is to build a bridge between alumni and the College in general and the Department in particular. During the meeting, the alumni community shares their views on future plan and programme for overall development of the Department. The Secretary called for everyone's support for the upcoming event of the Committee.

At the end, Dr. Upen Konch in his addressed from the chair thanked and expressed his sincere gratitude to everyone for making the first alumni meet a grand success. The meeting was ended up with a formal vote of thanks by Dr. Trailukya Gogoi.



S/d HoD Department of Political Science Dhemaji College